Wisconsin: Driver License Status

Last updated: October 16th, 2018

Check the Status of Your Wisconsin Driver's License

Check my driver's license

It is extremely important to verify the status of your license. Driving with a suspended or revoked license can lead to a civil or criminal offense, depending on the circumstances. If your driving privilege was withdrawn due to a suspension, revocation, cancellation, disqualification, or denial, you can use the online WisDOT eligibility application to see what requirements you will need to meet to reinstate your Wisconsin driver's license.

JUMP TO...

  • Failure to yield violation
  • Habitual traffic offender
  • Too many points on your driver's license
  • Operated vehicle while intoxicated (OWI)
  • What to do if you cannot reinstate your license


  • Failure to Yield Violation

    Anyone who is convicted of a failure-to-yield violation is required to attend a failure to yield/right-of-way course. However, in addition to that, if the violation resulted in bodily harm, great bodily harm or death to someone, the driver's license will be suspended. If the violation resulted in:
    • Bodily harm - two month suspension
    • Great bodily harm - three month suspension
    • Death to another person - nine month suspension


    If your driving privilege is suspended due to a failure to yield violation, you cannot reinstate your license until you successfully complete a failure to yield right-of-way course. Too Cool Traffic School is an approved provider for the failure to yield/right-of-way course. Once your completion status has been sent to the DMV, check your driving status and eligibility to reinstate your operating privilege.

    Failure to Yield

    Online Course

    • Take our Failure to Yield Right-of-Way course if you were convicted of a failure to yield violation.
    • WIDOT Approved!
    • Take it Anytime, Anywhere!
    • FREE Downloadable Certificate
    • Full narration, animated guide & fun activities
    • GREAT PRICE Guaranteed!
      (we offer fun videos, games, interactions & our own virtual guide throughout our course)

    $28.99

    Get Started
    Common FAQ's

    Habitual Traffic Offender

    Someone is a habitual traffic offender if their driving record shows 12 or more moving violations in Wisconsin OR 4 or more major violations committed in Wisconsin or any other state OR a combination of 12 or more major or minor convictions. Major traffic violations include:
    • Reckless driving
    • Operating while Intoxicated
    • Homicide involving vehicle use
    • Hit and run involving injury or death
    • Felony use of a vehicle
    • Making a false statement to DMV
    • Attempting to elude an officer
    • Refusal to submit to chemical testing

    Wisconsin Demerit Points

    If you have accumulated 12 or more demerit points within a 12 month period, your driver's license will be suspended. The length of a suspension is based on the type of driver's license you have.

    Probationary driver license, instruction permit or have never been issued a license:
    • 12-30 points – 6 month suspension
    • More than 30 points assessed – 1 year suspension

      Regular driver license or commercial driver license (CDL):
    • 12-16 points assessed – 2 month suspension
    • 17-22 points assessed – 4 month suspension
    • 23-30 points assessed – 6 month suspension
    • More than 30 points assessed – 1 year suspension

    Driving Under the Influence (DUI)/Operating While Intoxicated (OWI)

    Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious offense. Depending on a variety of factors, your license could be revoked for a few months or many years. Someone with their first DUI offense will have their license revoked for 6-9 months. If you are unsure how long your license has been revoked for, you should review the status of your driver's license and determine what eligibility requirements must be met to return your license to a valid standing. For more information on OWI penalties, click here.

    Cannot Reinstate License

    Check Occupational License Eligibility If you cannot reinstate your license, you may be able to apply for an occupational license. With an occupational license, you can drive to and from work, school, church, medical appointments and other places that are necessary to maintaining your household. However, you may not use it to visit family or friends, social gathering, etc. With this license, your driving will be limited to up to 12 hours of driving per day, with no more than 60 total hours of driving during the week.