What do you need to get your permit in Florida?
Question: What do you need to get your permit in Florida?
Answer: To get your learner’s permit, you must complete the traffic law and substance abuse course (drug and alcohol course), take the Class E knowledge exam (also known as the permit test) and have a signed parent consent form to turn in at the DMV.
Before a teen driver can get their learner’s permit, they must be at least 15 years old and complete a traffic law and substance abuse education (TLSAE/drug and alcohol) course. After completing that, they will need to take the permit test. As long as the new driver is under the age of 18, the permit test can be taken conveniently online.
Click here to learn more about the teen licensing process or if you need to get a first license as an adult.
Things to bring to the DMV
1 . Proof of identity (ex. original or certified birth certificate, valid passport, etc.)
2 . Proof of your Social Security number (Social Security card)
3 . Proof of your Florida residency (Voter registration card, mortgage or rental statement, car title or registration, auto insurance policy, etc.)
Note: If a parent/guardian is proving residency for a teen applicant, they will need to sign this form.
4 . The consent form to be signed by a parent or guardian at the DMV
Note: If they cannot be present at the DMV, the form can be notorized in advanced
5 . Payment for the $48 learner’s permit fee
Teen Driver’s License Bundle
The state requires that you complete the Drug and Alcohol Course and the Learner’s Permit Exam before you can go to the DMV to get your learner’s permit. If you’re under 18, you can do it all online! Our teen bundle also includes a prep course and an unlimited practice test to get you prepared to pass the learner’s permit test.