How to get a Permit as a First Time Driver in Florida

Last updated: January 16th, 2018

HOW TO GET YOUR FIRST LICENSE

Whether you're a teen preparing to get their learner's permit or an adult first time driver, we've reviewed the process and made easy step-by-step instructions for you to follow.

TEENS/UNDER 18

HOW TO GET A LEARNER'S PERMIT

Drivers with a learner's permit must have a licensed adult in the front passenger seat at all times.

Age Step #1 Step #2 Step #3 Step #4 Step #5 Result
At least 15 years old Complete our traffic law & substance abuse course Register Now Review the Florida Driver's Handbook Course Register Now Take the Class E Knowledge exam (Permit Test) Register Now Have a signed consent form Make an appointment with the DMV Get Learner's permit
HOW TO GET AN INTERMEDIATE LICENSE

With an intermediate license, you can drive without an adult, but there are some other rules you need to follow.

Age Step #1 Step #2 Step #3 Step #4 Step #5 Result
16-17 years old Hold a learner's permit for 1 year Gain supervised driving experience Certify that you have 50 hrs behind the wheel (with 10 hrs at night) Take the driving skills test or present a waiver from an accepted drivers ed course Make an appointment with the DMV Get Intermediate License
HOW TO GET A FULL LICENSE

With a full license, the restrictions from the intermediate license are removed.

Age Step #1 Step #2 Step #3 Step #4 Step #5 Result
18 years old Hold an intermediate license Before 18th birthday The restrictions will automatically be removed You do not have to go to the DMV to update your license If you ever get a traffic ticket, keep points off your driving record with traffic school Get Class E Driver's License



1st Time Drivers 18 & Older

HOW TO GET A FIRST TIME DRIVER LICENSE

If you've never driven before, this is where it all begins as an adult in Florida.

Age Step #1 Step #2 Step #3 Step #4 Step #5 Result
18 years or older Complete our traffic law & substance abuse course Register Now Review the Florida Driver's Handbook Take the Class E Knowledge exam (must complete at DMV) Take the driving skills test or present a waiver from an accepted drivers ed course Make an appointment with the DMV Class E Driver's License