Frequently Asked Questions: Driving Records

FAQ for Florida Driving Records

If you need your Florida driving record or driving abstract, we’re here to help. We are approved by the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) as an authorized record provider. After making your purchase, you will be able to immediately download and print the report!


There are many reasons that someone may need to pull their driving record, a few of them are below:

  • Application requirement for the Florida Bar Exam
  • Application requirement for Law Enforcement Academy
  • To show proof of being licensed after moving to another state
  • For employment (especially related to truck drivers, cab drivers, UBER/Lyft, etc.)
  • For car insurance purposes

Many people will also regularly review their driving record (just as they would their credit report) to make sure that the information is correct and accurate.

General Information

1. What is a driver record? Do I need it?
Driving records keep track of your traffic violations, traffic education you’ve completed, license status and more. Employers often use it for job applicants, and insurance agencies look at it before every renewal period. Just like you occasionally check your credit score, it’s important to make sure your driving record is accurate.

2. Will you give me a certified driving record? No. The records that we provide are non-certified driving records that come directly from the FLHSMV. A certified driving record must be requested directly from the state via mail. Once you mail in the required forms, it can take 2 weeks for the request to be processed. You can’t get a certified copy anywhere online or from your local DMV — it must be done directly through the state.

3. Where can I get more information about certified driving records? Visit the State Website for additional information. You can also call either of the following phone numbers if you have any additional questions:

  • 850-617-2573
  • 850-617-2000

4. There are three options… which one should I choose? You can choose from a 3 year, 7 year or complete report. Each of the reports varies slightly. One of the biggest differences is that some information, such as traffic school completion, will not appear on 3 and 7 year reports. For more information, see the 3 year report overview7 year report overview and the complete report overview.

Download your instant driving record!

Approved by the FLHSMV.

Getting the Record/ Reading the Record

1. I don’t have my Florida driver’s license number. How can I find out what it is?
You can get this information from the State of Florida’s website.

2. I mistyped my driver’s license number, so my driving report didn’t go through. What do I do?
Unfortunately, if you mistype your driver’s license number, the only way for you to get a valid record is to repurchase it and correctly enter the information. Since we are directly connected with the FLHSMV system, we are charged a fee immediately after submitting the request for a report — even if incorrect information is submitted.

3. What does a Florida Driving Record look like?
For an example of a Florida Driving Record, click here. Please note that your driving record may be only one page. This example is a comprehensive and detailed look and explanation of the information for driving records.

4. How will I get my record?
You will be able to immediately download it from our website. All you need to do is register, pay. then enter your driver’s license number. After that, you will be taken to your account dashboard where there will be a button that says “Download”. You can download it as many times as you need within 24 hours. After that time, the record will be removed from our system.

5. Why does my download link say “Download Expired”?
After 24 hours, your driving record is removed from our system to protect your privacy. You will need to pay for another one if you did not download the PDF during the 24-hour period.

6.What if I need to see or reprint my driving report?
Since the contents of a driving record are sensitive in nature, we have a strict policy with how we handle driving records. Once you complete your purchase, you will have 24 hours to view, save or print the document. If you need to see it again within that timeframe, you can do so by logging into your dashboard. After 24 hours have passed, the document will be purged from our system. If you need it again after that, you will have to repurchase it.

7. Why doesn’t a recent ticket appear on the report?
It can take time for very recent events to show up on your record. The FLHSMV database is updated after you have either attended traffic school, paid the fine, or after a court adjudication. The county courts must send conviction information to the state within 10 days after adjudication of a case. After this, the state can work on putting the information into their database. Contested or out-of-state tickets can take several months before they appear on the record.

8. Will I see a traffic ticket from another state on the record?
Sometimes, the state where you received a ticket will notify the State of Florida and it will be added to your record. However, some states do not do this.

9. My driving record is missing a few violations that I know should be listed.

Some entries will not appear on the record once a certain amount of time passes. Here is what the FLHSMV provides as a reference for the length of time that entries remain on the report.

  • Dispositions of guilty – Most non-moving/moving violations have a 3 to 5 year retention; for more serious violations the retention periods vary (10 years, 15 years, etc.) and depend on the severity of the violation.
  • Dispositions of adjudication withheld clerk of court – called school elections, are retained for 75 years (only allowed up to 5 in a lifetime) and for compliances, 75 years (only allowed up to 3 in a lifetime).
  • Dispositions of adjudication withheld by judge/magistrate – have same retention as guilty dispositions.
  • Suspensions and Revocations – varies (ex: 7 years, 10 years, etc.)
  • Alcohol related entries – 75 years
  • Serious commercial driver license violations – varies (ex: 10 years, 55 years, etc.)
  • Disqualifications – varies (ex: 7 years, 55 years, etc.)


Florida DHSMV Driving Records

  • 24 Hour Record Access
  • OFFICIAL State Record
  • We Protect Your Privacy
    (your record is removed from our system after 24 hours to keep your personal information safe)
  • Great for Employers (Business Pricing Available)

2Cool Traffic School

Latest Florida News & Blogs