When can you drive to school with a permit in Florida?

Question: Can you drive to school with a permit in Florida?

Answer: No, not by yourself. With a learner’s permit, you can only drive if a licensed adult driver (21+ years old) is in the front passenger seat. When you have an intermediate license, you will be able to drive to school by yourself.  So you could practice driving to and from school if your parents are dropping you off and picking you up but no, you can’t drive to school by yourself.

Explanation

Driving yourself to school is a rite of passage and it takes time before the state of Florida will allow you to do that. With a learner’s permit, you have several restrictions. You cannot drive at all if a licensed driver at least 21 years or older is not in the front passenger seat. In addition to this, during the first 3 months, you can only drive during daylight hours. After that, you can drive until 10pm.

Super Sale: FREE Learner's Permit Exam!

Get our teen bundle and get your learner's permit exam free!

Includes: Our fun, state-approved drug and alcohol course (required), Florida Handbook Course (Exclusive to 2Cool), Unlimited Practice Exams PLUS, your Free Learners Permit Exam! Once you’re done, go to the DMV and get your permit.

How do I get an Intermediate License?

Florida has a graduated licensing program to help ensure that drivers know what they’re doing on our roadways. You can start driving without an adult in the car once you have your intermediate license. To get this license, you have to provide the DMV with a Florida learner’s permit or a license from another state, have a parent or guardian sign this form stating that you have had at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience, where 10 of those hours were at night. In addition to that, you will need to take a physical driving test to demonstrate your ability to perform various driving maneuvers.

Step #1: Hold a Learner’s Permit

Drivers with a learner’s permit must have a licensed adult in the front passenger seat at all times.

AgeStep #1Step #2Step #3Step #4Step #5Result
At least 15 years oldComplete our traffic law & substance abuse course Register NowReview the Florida Driver’s Handbook Course Register NowTake the Class E Knowledge exam (Permit Test) Register NowHave a signed consent formMake an appointment with the DMVGet Learner’s permit

Step #2: Get Driving Experience

With an intermediate license, you can drive without an adult, but there are some other rules you need to follow.

AgeStep #1Step #2Step #3Step #4Step #5Result
16-17 years oldHold a learner’s permit for 1 yearGain supervised driving experienceCertify that you have 50 hrs behind the wheel (with 10 hrs at night)Take the driving skills test or present a waiver from an accepted drivers ed courseMake an appointment with the DMVGet Intermediate License

Teen Driver’s License Bundle

The state requires that you complete the Drug and Alcohol Course and the Learner’s Permit Exam before you can go to the DMV to get your learner’s permit. If you’re under 18, you can do it all online! Our teen bundle also includes a prep course and an unlimited practice test to get you prepared to pass the learner’s permit test.

See What Our

Students Say

Please take a moment and read below what our students think of our course and support.

2Cool Traffic School

Latest Florida News & Blogs