What is the legal driving age in Florida?
Question: What is the legal driving age in Florida?
Answer: 15 years old is the youngest age that a learner’s permit can be obtained.
If you are at least 15 years old, then you can get your learner’s permit after completing the 4 hour drug and alcohol course (also known as the TLSAE – traffic law and substance abuse course) and taking the Class E knowledge exam (the learner’s permit test).
Although driving is legal once a learner’s permit is obtained, there are several rules that need to be followed. With a learner’s permit, drivers always need to have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old in the front passenger seat. The young driver is only allowed to drive during daylight hours during the first three months and until 10 PM after that.
Getting your learner’s permit is as easy as 1-2-3!
Get Your Learner’s Permit!
If you are the legal driving age in Florida, then we have everything you need: Drug & Alcohol Course, Learner’s Permit Test, Handbook Study Guide + Unlimited Practice Tests!
Take our fun, state-approved drug and alcohol course. Then, complete your learner’s permit exam all from the comfort of home! Once you’re done, go to the DMV and get your license. We are an official State Provider for the State of Florida and our courses are fun and interactive so you don’t have to read pages and pages of boring content for seemingly endless hours like other providers.
Why Wait? Check out all of our great perks!
Legal Driving Age in Florida & Getting a License
The minimum legal driving age in Florida is 15 years old. Many teens who want to get their license try to get their learner’s permit around their 15th birthday so that they can get their intermediate license with less restrictions by the time they turn 16. To get the intermediate license, teens must hold a learner’s permit for at least one year.
Getting a License in Florida
#1: TAKE THE DRUG AND ALCOHOL COURSE & COMPLETION TEST
- NO hidden fees
- Full narration
- Fun activities and videos
- Take the course on your schedule
- State approved
- No stress — Take the test until you pass
#2: TAKE THE LEARNER’S PERMIT EXAM
Once you’ve completed the Drug and Alcohol Course, all new drivers must complete the learner’s permit exam — also known as the driver’s license exam. This must be done before anyone can be issued a learner’s permit. Anyone between the ages of 14½ and 17 can take the state learner’s permit exam online with us! If you’re 18 or older, you will need to take the exam at the DMV.
Need some help studying for the exam? Check out our:
#3: GO TO THE DMV TO GET YOUR LICENSE
Once you’ve completed both the drug and alcohol course and the learner’s permit exam, you can go to the DMV to get your learner’s permit. For more information, check out the licensing requirements for teens, graduated driver license laws and driving curfews on the FLHSMV website.
Teen Driver’s License Bundle
If you are the legal driving age in Florida of the age of 15 years old, then you should take advantage of our teen bundle! The state requires that you complete the Drug and Alcohol Course and the Learner’s Permit Exam before you can go to the DMV to get your learner’s permit. If you’re under 18, you can do it all online! Our teen bundle also includes a prep course and an unlimited practice test to get you prepared to pass the learner’s permit test.