Florida Drug and Alcohol Course – What Is It?

Florida Drug and Alcohol Course – What Is It?

Quick Summary

Florida 4 Hour Durg and Alcohol TestYou’ve been hearing about this 4 hour Florida Drug and Alcohol course, and you’ve probably heard it in its many different forms. But what is it exactly?

This blog explains everything you need to know about this course. It’s not just a test. There is a test, but it’s definitely not 4 hours long! So, to fill up that time, the drug and alcohol course is an online class that teaches you about, well… you guessed it: drugs and alcohol, particularly when it comes to driving. We all know mixing alcohol and narcotics is bad, but pair that with driving and it makes it even worse.

But why and exactly how is it bad? This blog takes a closer look into the course and what you can expect. Surprises are fun and all, but when it comes to getting your first license, you’ll want to know everything… right? So keep reading further and all of your million dollar questions will be answered!

Why does the Drug and Alcohol Course have so many names, like… TLSAE?

Choosing a Florida Traffic School

We have no idea why the course has so many names. And maybe you’ve even clicked on this blog because you don’t know what the TLSAE (“tull-say”) is, but you do know that it has something to do with the drug and alcohol requirement for your license–join the gang!

Luckily, we can help.

First of all, the TLSAE has many names. We don’t know why and we don’t ask. Maybe it’s because they couldn’t agree on one name, so they just agreed to call it all of the following great names:

  • TLSAE course (Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education)
  • DATA course (Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness)
  • DATE course (Drug Alcohol Traffic Education)
  • Florida 4-hour Drug and Alcohol course

All of these names can be and will be used as one.

For the purpose of this blog, we’ll use the two most popular names that people refer to: the Florida Drug and Alcohol course and the TLSAE. Whatever you want to call it, they all have one thing in common: “course.” It’s a course that you have to take, not just a test. This is a common misunderstanding. Think of the TLSAE as a one-time online class and one step closer to getting your driver’s license!

Afterall, every single first-time driver must take this course, regardless of how old you are. A first-time driver is someone who has never had a valid, legal driver’s license in ANY state. If this is you, then you need this course!

Making everyone take this course JUST MAKES SENSE!

Think about it. We’re all on the road trying to be safe drivers for our own safety and for the safety of others. We want people to know not to drink and drive.

“But this is common sense!”

You’d be surprised by how many people still drink and drive no matter how many times “Don’t drink and drive” has been said. It’s because people (especially teens) think that they’re good drivers, and since it’s “just this one time” then nothing bad will happen. Drivers who think this way will continue to drink and drive until something bad happens.

Don’t believe us?

According to the CDC, high school teens drive after drinking about 2.4 million times a month. Overall, 28% of all traffic-related deaths in the United States is from alcohol-impaired driving in 2016. This probably doesn’t sound like a lot, but it’s over ¼ of all traffic-related deaths.

That is, indeed, a lot.

What’s the point?

The point of the TLSAE is to bring attention to drugs and alcohol impairment that will affect driving. We want to know that our drivers are aware of the costs of drug and alcohol abuse. By requiring all new drivers to take this course, we ensure that they know how these factors impair driving.

This is why the TLSAE is a REQUIREMENT for all first-time drivers. After all, it’s better to be safe than sorry!

What’s on the 4 hour Florida Drug and Alcohol Course?

Let’s look at the basic structure of the course before we dive into the nitty gritty details of what it’s actually like. The structure of the course is determined by the state of Florida, so that means every traffic school has the same set of rules to stick to.

  • Chapter 1: Drugs, Alcohol and Your Body
  • Chapter 2: The Cost of Drug and Alcohol Abuse
  • Chapter 3: Impaired Driving
  • Chapter 4: Florida Traffic Laws
  • Chapter 5: Vulnerable Road Users
  • Chapter 6: Defensive Driving Skills
  • Exam

As you can see, there are only six (6) chapters and a final exam. At the end of each chapter, there’s a 5-question chapter quiz. You will need to get 4 out of 5 questions correct. But, wait!

What if you don’t pass the chapter quizzes?

No worries. You’ll be able to take the chapter quizzes until you pass. No penalties! These are simply to prepare you for the test at the end. Speaking of the test at the end, the final exam has 40 questions. You’ll need to get 32 of them right to pass–that’s 80% for all you non-numbers people. There’s no time limit. However, you CANNOT stop anytime during this test or else you fail. Sorry… we don’t make the rules.

What’s the Drug and Alcohol Course actually like?

Okay, let’s get to the good stuff. At Too Cool Traffic School, we believe in making learning fun and enjoyable. That’s why we offer fully narrated courses with high-quality content at the lowest price possible! Our fully narrated course has fun activities and videos to make it more interesting, enjoyable and memorable.

After all, you do have to remember this stuff for the test at the end and for future references when you’re a full-time driver. We figured that the best way for our students to learn is through interactive learning.

What does this mean for you exactly?

It means that you get to learn from our virtual guide, SAM. He will guide you through each of the six chapters. This also means that you don’t have to read a-n-y-t-h-i-n-g! All you need to do is sit back, relax and listen. We strongly encourage you to view our demo.

What are the requirements for the TLSAE?

Not much, really. There are two things to really keep in mind here.

  1. Anyone who is 14 years old or older can take the course. It’s meant to educate new drivers about the effects and consequences of impaired driving from drugs and alcohol.
  2. There’s a time requirement placed by the state of Florida. You have to spend at least 4 hours in the course. Don’t be mistaken thinking that you have only 4 hours to complete the course–this is a common misunderstanding! Think of it this way: it’s good to go over 4 hours in the course because you won’t have to worry about the time requirement at all. The best part is that you don’t have to take the course at once! You can start and stop whenever you’d like. Login whenever you’re ready to return to the course and it’ll pickup right where you left off.

 

Okay, okay. I know what the TLSAE is. What do  I do next?

Do you think you have a good grip on what the TLSAE is now?

Assuming your answer is “yes”… Good! Next, you’ll need to study for the permit exam. The TLSAE is completely separate from the permit exam. You heard that right. Many people think that the TLSAE is the permit exam or think that it somehow prepares them for the permit exam. Sorry, folks. This is not the case at all.

What really prepares you for the permit exam is our exclusive Florida Handbook Course and our Practice Test:

The Florida Handbook Course

This was created by yours truly, Too Cool Traffic School! This means that no other online traffic school offers this course to provide their students with enough preparation. Luckily, we care and we’ve got your back. The permit exam isn’t an easy exam, and we know that. This is why we created the handbook course.

What’s in it?

We got the information from the official Florida driver’s handbook–which is exactly what the permit exam tests you on. This means you have to study it! The official Florida driver’s handbook is… let’s say, plain. It was a bit too plain for our tastes, so we decided that you would appreciate an interactive course that helps you prepare for the exam while having fun doing so.

How in the world do we make studying for the permit exam fun? Well, we’re glad you asked. Click here to find out!

The Practice Test

This is another studying tool of ours. We are serious when we say that the permit exam isn’t easy. This is why we created additional practice for our students. We want you to pass the exam the very first time since a lot of students don’t! We’re not trying to scare you… we’re just being honest. The practice test covers every topic that the real exam covers:

  • Traffic signs and road rules
  • Vehicle requirements
  • Occupant protection laws
  • Techniques for driving safely

What’s really awesome about our practice test is that you will get different questions every time. How? We created a huge question bank of over 500 questions! You’ll get 50 questions at a time until you feel like you’re well-prepared for the actual permit exam. These questions are very similar to the questions on the real permit exam.

The only difference between the practice test and the actual test is that there is no time limit on the practice test. We want you to learn the material instead of worrying about the time. On the actual permit exam, you’ll have one hour to answer 50 questions. Click here for more information about the practice test!

HELP! I want everything you just mentioned but at a CHEAPER PRICE!

You are going to be so glad that you read this far (seriously, kudos to you!) because we have a bundle to satisfy your needs. Instead of purchasing each thing individually, we figured that you would appreciate a bundled discount package.

  • For teens 14-17 years old: We created a teen bundle that includes literally everything you need to get your Florida learner’s permit. It has the required materials you need to get your permit (the TLSAE and the official online permit exam) as well as the two studying tools to help you succeed (the Florida Handbook Course and the Practice Test). For more information on the First Time Teen Driver Bundle, click here.
  • For adults 18 years or older: We created an adult bundle that includes everything except the online permit exam. Adults 18 years and older must take the permit exam at a DMV location. However, this package includes the Florida Drug and Alcohol online (which anyone can take online regardless of age), and it includes preparation materials–the Florida Handbook Course and the Practice Test–for the permit exam. For more information on the First Time Adult Driver Bundle, click here.

I have a sibling who also needs to get their Florida Driver’s License. Please, help us!

Family Discount Plan Graphic

For even MORE SAVINGS, Too Cool Traffic School has created a brand new Family Discount Program! We listen to our students and have found that a lot of them come from referrals from their family members or siblings. It only makes sense for us to create a discount for families because we know that money is tight all around!

So, what exactly does this mean for you?

If you have more than one person in your household that needs to get their license and take the Florida Drug and Alcohol course, then you can save $5.00 on each bundled discount package. For more information on the Family Discount Program, click here.

How do I sign up for the TLSAE?

You can click here to register now or click on the button below! For more information on the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course, please visit our website and our Florida TLSAE FAQ page.

Proven Results

1000+ Happy Customers!

Our students love our Florida Drug and Alcohol Course. See for yourself.